Living Published Women Poets in the UK
Julia Copus
Categories: C

Julia Copus poet

Julia Copus was born in London.


In Defence of Adultery (Bloodaxe, 2003)

The Shuttered Eye (Bloodaxe, 1995)

Walking in the Shadows (Smith/Doorstop, 1994)

Non Fiction

Brilliant Writing Tips for Students (Palgrave Macmillan July 2009)

Julia Copus’s first collection won an Eric Gregory Award and was shortlisted for Forward Prize for Best First Collection.  Along with Eleanor Brown, Tracey Herd, Jane Holland and Roddy Lumsden she took part in the UK New Blood Tour in 1997 organised by Bloodaxe Books. Receiving a writing award from the Arts Council of England and the Authors’ Foundation in 2001, she went on to become one of six writers awarded a BBC/Gulbenkian writer’s bursary. She won the National Poetry Competition with Breaking the Rule in 2002.

In 2002 Julia Copus won the Alfred Bradley Bursary Award for New Playwrights which led to a commission for an original 45 minute play for radio. Eenie Meenie Macka Racka was first broadcast on BBC Radio 4 in 2003.  Also in 2003, Julia Copus collaborated with sculptor Stephen Broadbent and produced a poem inscribed on a bronze bench in Fleming Square, Blackburn.  A subsequent commission the following year involved writing a poem for St Dunstan’s in Brighton as part of the Architexts project.

Julia Copus was awarded a Royal Literary Fund Fellowship at the University of Exeter in the years 2005, 2006 and 2007 and was then made an Advisory Fellow for the Royal Literary Fund and awarded an Honorary Fellowship at the University of Exeter.

She has made recordings of some of her poems for The Poetry Archive and Poetcasting.

In 2010 she won the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem with An Easy Passage and is currently working on a forthcoming collection.

“Some of the most turbulent moments in life through a sharp, clear lens,” Maura Dooley.

Comments are closed.